Campbell Hill, OH and Hoosier Hill, IN state highpoints

Since it was too hot to go backpacking and I cancelled the trip I was supposed to go on to do the MD section of the AT I was trying to find something else to do – I was 1/2 joking when I said to my dad “wanna go on a road trip to get the OH and IN state highpoints,” but he said sure! WAHOO! Β Last minute road trip!!! πŸ™‚

So early Sat am we jumped in the car and headed out west. Β When we plugged the coordinates into my GPS it said we would arrive a little after 2:30- this made us very nervous because on summitpost.com it says the OH HIGHPOINT is only open until 3. Β We knew we didn’t have much time to spare. Β My dad wanted to take the turnpike most of the way but my GPS kept trying to redirect us off the turnpike. Β “I’M NOT GOING THAT WAY!!!! What is it @!*β€’! doing!?!???” I said “idk dad but it’s just gonna try to keep redirecting you- do you want me to put it on mute if you know where ur going?” He shouted “I KNOW WHERE I’M GOING TIL I GET THERE!!” Which I thought was hysterical- after a few more times of listing to my GPS say “recalculating” and a few more curse words from my dad, I checked the settings- somehow it was checked to avoid toll roads- ah HA! Problem solved- and it also reduced our driving time and said we should get to Campbell Hill at 1:45- much better!!!

ROAD TRIP!!

So we continued our drive – Β I just have to rant a little here- we stopped at a rest area on the PA turnpike and was never more disgusted- I took JoJo for a walk in the grassy area and it was like no one felt like picking up their dogs poo- seriously- it was NASTY!!! So I pick up Jo’s after she goes (leave no trace!!!) and go to throw it out and there is a bench next to the trash can- WITH A PILE OF SOMEONES TRASH RIGHT NEXT THE THE TRASH CAN!!!! Seriously not even 4′ away- nothing annoys me more that that kind of laziness- so your welcome a hole- I picked it up for u and threw it out since it was too difficult for you to do. UGH! Β But I did see a bunch of monarch butterflies so that was pretty awesome!

So after we were done getting a few snacks we hopped back in the car. Β I have no idea where my GPS was trying to take us but it was trying to put us on some side road 25 mins BEFORE Bellefontaine- I knew this wasn’t right so we just went with the instructions I found online :

From I-70 West take exit 93 to merge onto I-270 North towards Cleveland. Take exit 17B off I-270 to merge onto US-33 headed west. Take the OH-540 East exit for Sandusky Ave. A half mile down the roadyou will find a school on the right side of the road. This is your destination. (From tripadvisor.com)

It was really strange turning into the school parking lot- we just kept driving straight past all the buildings- you will see one at the far end of the lot that says Animal Care – head towards that and then up a little hill and around to the right. Β There is a small circle of parking spaces there- we weren’t sure if we were in the right place but then I spotted a small sign in between 2 giant metal buildings:

we made it! πŸ™‚
close up of the sign between the buildings
Campbell Hill is between these 2 buildings

It was only 2:00 and no one was around! Β I was so happy we didn’t drive all that way for nothing – it is not open to the public on Sundays and the whole place appeared to be fenced in.


Β Β 

certificate and log book inside!

Β Β 
Β Β 
Β Β 
After we were done with the pictures we decided we may as well get Hoosier Hill in Indiana today too since it was still early and that was only about 2 hrs away -we were originally going to get that one Sunday and then head back home.

We also passed a sign that stated Bellefontaine was the 1st place to have a cement road- before that all the roads were just dirt- pretty interesting- I had read online that the original street is somewhere in town, but we couldn’t find it as we passed through- you must have to turn off the road we were on somewhere.


The drive was very pleasant through flat land with some gentle rolling hills – there was corn growing as far as you could see for most of this ride. Β My GPS took us the back way, which had a few signs to direct us:



After this sign we made the left turn and drove down the road a bit- we reached a road crossing and thought ‘this doesn’t seem right’ the road crossing was for Bethel Rd and I knew in the directions from online it said to turn rt off Bethel onto Elliot and go for about a mile- so we realized we passed it- I said “I bet it was that short dirt road we passed right when we turned left onto Elliot. Β We turned around and sure enough there it was – in between a corn field and a stretch of woods.

we missed this sign as the branch was covering it a bit
parking between corn field and woods

view from right before you enter the woods

As soon as we get there it started DOWNPOURING! Β I snapped a few pics and we ran into the woods and up the short path to the highpoint of Indiana- Hoosier Hill! Β Luckily the trees acted as a sort of natural umbrella! Β It was a really cute little area that you would never know was there unless you were looking for it.

the path from the parking spot to Hoosier Hill

Β Β 
Β Β 

Hoosier Hill is on private property so please respect this area so future highpointers will be able to enjoy it!!

We walked all around trying to find a USGS marker, but couldn’t see one anywhere. Β It started to rain even harder so we decided to head out.

We briefly talked about heading over to Charles Mound- the highpoint in Illinois as it is only open a very few weekends per yr – it is also on private property and this weekend happens to be one of the few it’s open, but it would have been a 7 hr drive. Β My dad wanted to head home and I was happy to have snagged 2 so I wasn’t gonna complain! Β I can get that one next year!!

We drove for a few hours and then got hungry and tired. Β The area we stopped had a ton of hotels but only 2 were dog friendly- of course they were the last 2 we looked at- haha!

Now Jo is passed out on the bed with me- using my foot as a pillow- which isn’t very comfortable for me, but she sure is cute- and it’s her birthday so I’ll allow it- so happy 3rd bday to my Joey girl!!!! Β I think she had fun- I couldn’t find any place to get her ice cream though so I owe her one!! πŸ™‚

Great road trip- this make 13 highpoints for me! Wahoo!!

Ps- this is how much JoJo likes my dad’s audiobooks:

3 thoughts on “Campbell Hill, OH and Hoosier Hill, IN state highpoints

Leave a Reply

